This content was published in the period between 3 October 2014 and 20 January 2019.

Swedish chairmanship at IEA Ministerial Meeting advanced energy transition


Minister for Policy Coordination and Energy Ibrahim Baylan chaired the International Energy Agency (IEA) Ministerial Meeting on 7–8 November in Paris. Swedish priorities regarding enhanced engagement with emerging economies to help accelerate global clean-energy transitions were raised at the meeting.

  • Group photo of Heads of Delegation at the meeting

    Ministers and top government officials from the IEA’s 29 member countries, seven Association countries and other partners, as well as more than 30 CEOs from energy industry met in Paris on 7-8 November 2017.

    Photo: Nicole Dreher/Government Offices of Sweden

  • Mr Baylan at the podium, speaking to the audience

    Minister for Policy Coordination and Energy Ibrahim Baylan giving his opening remarks at the IEA Ministerial Meeting 2017.

    Photo: Andrew Wheeler/IEA

  • Meeting delegates mingling at the event

    Sweden and IEA hosted the event Women in Clean Energy to promote women's participation and leadership in the energy transition. From the left: Anna Elmfeldt, PwC; Charlotte Unger, Swedish Wind Energy; Elin Löfblad, OX2 and C3E ambassador; Magnus Hall, Vattenfall AB.

    Photo: Nicole Dreher/Government Offices of Sweden

  • The three ministers and the executive director.

    Mexico was welcomed at the Ministerial Meeting as IEA's next and 30th member country. They will be the first South American member country. From the left: Jim Carr, Minister for Natural Resources of Canada; Dr Fatih Birol, IEA Executive Director; Pedro Joaquín Coldwell, Minister for Energy of Mexico; Ibrahim Baylan, Minister for Policy Coordination and Energy of Sweden.

    Photo: Nicole Dreher/Government Offices of Sweden

The IEA Ministerial Meeting, which is held every second year, brought together energy ministers from 40 countries and leaders of the world's 30 largest energy companies in Paris on 7–8 November. The aim of the meeting was to give direction and incentive to IEA efforts over the next few years.

Under the leadership of Executive Director Dr Fatih Birol, the organisation has begun a modernisation programme in three focus areas: enhanced engagement with emerging economies, the IEA as a global clean energy hub for energy technology and energy efficiency measures, and secure energy supply adapted to new market conditions. As chair, Mr Baylan had the important task of advancing and consolidating members' interests in these areas.

"At the meeting, we made the Swedish priorities clear regarding increasing the IEA's focus on engaging with emerging economies to help accelerate global clean energy transitions, in which opportunities offered by digital transformation also play a major role going forward. Our efforts yielded positive results and there was broad support among member countries to move ahead in these areas," says Mr Baylan.

The results of the Ministerial Meeting mainly contribute to:

  • broadened, strengthened and more well-financed cooperation with emerging economies, with a focus on sustainable energy systems;
  • increased cooperation between the public and business sectors, in both investments and digital transformation; and
  • greater gender equality in the energy sector through strengthening women's leadership and participation in the clean energy transition.

At the meeting, Mexico was welcomed as the next and 30th member of the IEA.

Countries and organisations taking part in the 2017 IEA Ministerial Meeting

  • IEA member states: Australia, Austria, Belgium, Canada, Czech Republic, Denmark, Estonia, the EU, Finland, France, Germany, Greece, Hungary, Ireland, Italy, Japan, Luxembourg, the Netherlands, New Zealand, Norway, Poland, Portugal, Slovak Republic, South Korea, Spain, Sweden, Switzerland, Turkey, United Kingdom and USA.
  • IEA cooperation countries: Brazil, Chile, China, India, Indonesia, Mexico, Morocco, Singapore, South Africa and Thailand.
  • Energy Business Council: BP, Chevron, CHNC, Dow Chemical, Enagas, ENAP, Enel, Engie, Eni, ExxonMobil, Fortum, GE Power, Glencore, Hess Corporation, Hitachi, Iberdrola, Mitsubishi Corporation, Mitsubishi Heavy Industries, Morgan Stanley, PGNiG, Repsol, RES Group, Royal Dutch Shell, Siemens, SK, Statoil, Suncor Energy, Toshiba, Total, Vattenfall AB and WindEurope.

About the International Energy Agency (IEA)

The International Energy Agency (IEA) was founded in 1974 and is an independent body within the OECD. Today, the organisation has four focus areas: energy security, economic development, environmental awareness and engagement worldwide. The IEA’s core competencies are considered to be data collection and statistics, market and policy analysis, energy preparedness, research and technological cooperation, and support to the transition of energy systems.

The IEA has 29 member countries and is run by a Secretariat with a staff of just under 250 people. Since its launch, it has been situated in Paris.