Declaration from the Nordic Transport Ministerial Meeting in Gothenburg 14 August 2024

The Nordic transport ministers from Denmark, Finland, Iceland, Norway and Sweden have gathered in Gothenburg on 14 August 2024 and discussed issues of common interest.

When we, the Nordic transport ministers, convened in Fredrikstad on 8 November 2022, we agreed to pave the way for the establishment of Nordic fossil-free air routes by 2030. This commitment involves promoting a fossil-free aviation sector worldwide and encouraging future collaboration between the Nordic countries.

Electric aviation is pivotal in the shift towards a fossil-free aviation sector, not least in the more sparsely populated parts of the Nordic regions. The Nordic countries have the potential to become pioneers for the establishment of commercial electric aviation on a larger scale. However, to fulfil the goals set forth in the Fredrikstad declaration, we must intensify our efforts.

Against this background and our shared vision, we, the Nordic transport ministers, agree to further strengthen Nordic cooperation to promote the development of air routes operated by electric aircraft. We will do so by:

- COLLABORATING on the requisite regulatory frameworks and permit processes to introduce electric aviation, while ENCOURAGING close dialogue between the Nordic authorities concerned.
- ADVOCATING COLLECTIVELY in global platforms such as the European Union and the International Civil Aviation Organization for a seamless and harmonized introduction of electric aviation.
- PROMOTING and ACCELERATING the establishment of commercial electric aviation in the Nordic countries, while SUPPORTING opportunities for our industries to become world leaders in important technologies related to electric aviation.

Andreas Carlson
Minister for Infrastructure
and Housing

Lulu Ranne Minister of Transport and Communications

Thomas Danielsen
Minister for Transport

Jon-Ivar Nygård Minister of Transport

Aðalsteinn Þorsteinsson Permanent Secretary