This content was published in the period between 21 January 2019 and 8 July 2021.

The National Innovation Council’s working methods and members


Open discussions characterise the work of the National Innovation Council. Prime Minister Stefan Löfven is the Council Chair. The Council comprises members from various parts of the innovation system, including the business sector and academia, as well as four ministers responsible for different areas.

Photo: Ninni Andersson/The Government Offices

Sweden’s strong performance depends on its ability to use innovation to help find solutions to the major societal challenges and promote long-term competitiveness and sustainably in Sweden. The Council is an advisory body that convenes six times a year. The issues raised in the Council are examined by the Government Offices with the support of a state secretary group. The Council’s members contribute their expertise and perspectives from their respective areas. 

In addition to four meetings a year in Stockholm, two regional meetings are also held, which is an important part of developing national innovation policy. This involves identifying the various opportunities and conditions that exist in different parts of the country and that national policy must address. 

In addition to the Prime Minister, the Council comprises four ministers and members of the business sector, academia and other parts of society. The National Innovation Council is supported by a secretariat at the Prime Minister’s Office. 


Stefan Löfven, Prime Minister


Per Bolund, Minister for Environment and Climate, and Deputy Prime Minister

Magdalena Andersson, Minister for Finance

Ibrahim Baylan, Minister for Business, Industry and Innovation

Matilda Ernkrans, Minister for Higher Education and Research 


Katarina Ageborg, President, AstraZeneca AB, Sweden

Svante Axelsson, National Coordinator, Fossil Free Sweden

Sophia Bendz, Adviser, Atomico, and investor

Åsa Bergman, President and CEO, Sweco AB

Alrik Danielson, President and CEO, SKF Group

Samuel Engblom, Policy Director, Swedish Confederation of  Professional Employees (TCO)

Lena Miranda, CEO, Science Park Mjärdevi

Daniel Sachs, CEO, Proventus

Sylvia Schwaag Serger, Professor, Lund University

Staffan Truvé, Chief Technology Officer, Recorded Future

Ann-Marie Wennberg Larkö, Professor and Hospital Director, Sahlgrenska University Hospital

Hans Westlund, Professor of Urban and Regional Studies, KTH Royal Institute of Technology, and Professor of Entrepreneurship, Jönköping International Business School