This content was published in the period between 21 January 2019 and 8 July 2021

Press release from Ministry of Justice

Brexit – supplementary provisions concerning the rights of UK nationals


Today the Government presented a bill to the Riksdag containing proposals for provisions concerning the rights of UK nationals. The proposals supplement those contained in the Withdrawal Agreement between the United Kingdom and the EU and concern the right of certain UK nationals to travel to and live and work in Sweden.

The UK left the EU on 1 February 2020 but during the transition period, ending on 31 December 2020, EU law still applies to the UK. The situation for UK nationals living in Sweden will not change during the transition period.

At the end of the transition period, EU law will cease to apply to UK nationals, and instead, the citizens’ rights provisions of the Withdrawal Agreement will apply.

In the bill, the Government proposes provisions that supplement the Withdrawal Agreement.

The Government’s proposals include the following:

  • UK nationals who are residing here before the end of the transition period and their family members need to apply for a new residence status. Anyone who is granted residence status will have the right to continue living and working in Sweden on essentially the same terms as an EU citizen.
  • The Swedish Migration Agency will be the agency responsible for issuing decisions concerning residence status. The Agency will also issue documents to frontier workers covered by the rights under the Withdrawal Agreement, i.e. UK nationals who work in Sweden but live in another country.

It is proposed that the provisions enter into force on 1 December 2020.

An equivalent system is in place for Swedes and other EU citizens residing in the UK.

Press contact

Adriana Haxhimustafa
Press Secretary to the Minister for Justice and Migration Morgan Johansson
Phone (switchboard) +46 8 405 10 00