Skip to content

Schengen representation for Sweden


A Schengen visa application is submitted to the Swedish Embassy or Consulate in the country or territory where the applicant is residing. If there is no Swedish Embassy or Consulate present, another Schengen member state may represent Sweden and process the application on behalf of Sweden.

In some places Sweden is represented by another Schengen member state although there is a local Swedish Embassy. This is governed through a visa representation agreement. The representing country is responsible for the entire process, including issuing the visa and in the event of an appeals process. The representing country may choose to use the services of an external service provider in the application process.

Within the framework of the Schengen cooperation regarding visas, Sweden is represented by another member state in the following countries/territories. For updates per country – visit Sweden Abroad.

Sweden is represented by the following countries/territories
(sorted by country/territory):
Country/territory Place Representing country/territory
Algeria Algier Poland
Angola Luanda Portugal
Argentina Buenos Aires Norway
Armenia Yerevan Germany
Australia Canberra Norway
Azerbaijan Baku France
Bahrain Manama Germany
Belarus Minsk Estonia
Bhutan Thimpu Denmark
Botswana Gaborone Germany
Brazil Rio de Janeiro Norway
Bulgaria Sofia Finland
Burkina Faso Ouagadougou Denmark
Burundi Bujumbura Belgium
Cape Verde Praia Portugal
Central African Republic Bangui France
China Hong Kong Finland
Congo (DR) Kinshasa Belgium
Congo (DR) Lubumbashi Belgium
Congo (Republic) Brazzaville Italy
Costa Rica San José Spain
Cyprus Nicosia Finland
Djibouti Djibouti France
Dominician Republic Santo Domingo Spain
East Timor Dili Portugal
Equatorial Guinea Malabo Spain
Eritrea Asmara Italy
Gabon Libreville Spain
Gambia Banjul Netherlands in Dakar, Senegal
Georgia Tbilisi Latvia
Ghana Accra Denmark
Guinea Conakry France
Guinea-Bissau Bissau Portugal
Haiti Port au Prince France 
Ireland Dublin Denmark
Ivory Coast Abidjan Belgium
Jamaica Kingston Belgium
Kazakhstan Almaty Lithuania
Kazakhstan Astana Latvia
Kuwait Kuwait Netherlands
Kyrgyzstan  Bishkek  Hungary (from July 1 2024)
Laos Vientiane France
Libya Tripoli Germany (suspended). Applicants are referred to the Embassy of Sweden in Cairo, Amman or the Consulate-General in Istanbul.
Madagascar Antananarivo, Tananarive Switzerland
Malawi Lilongwe Norway
Mali Bamako Denmark
Malta Valletta Germany
Mauritania Nouakchott France
Mauritius Port Louis France
Mexico Mexico City Denmark
Moldova Chisinau Hungary
Mozambique Maputo France
Namibia Windhoek Finland
New Zealand Wellington Netherlands
Niger Niamey France (suspended) Applicants are referred to the VFS offices (visa application center) in Nigeria, Kenya, Tanzania, Ethiopia, Zambia, Zimbabwe or South Africa.
Oman Muscat Netherlands
Paraguay Asunción Spain
Peru Lima Finland
Qatar Doha The Netherlands
Russia Petrozavodsk Finland (suspended)
Rwanda Kigali Belgium
Saint Lucia Castries France
São Tomé and Principe Saõ Tomé Portugal
Senegal Dakar The Netherlands
Sri Lanka Colombo Norway
Surinam Paramaribo Netherlands
Taiwan Taipei Germany
Tajikistan Dusjanbe Germany
Tchad N'Djamena France
Togo Lomé France
Trinidad and Tobago Port of Spain Netherlands
Tunisia Tunis Finland
Turkmenistan Ashgabat Germany
Uganda Kampala France (expires 1 September 2024, applicants are thereafter referred to VFS office (visa application center) in Kampala)
Uruguay Montevideo Spain
Uzbekistan Tashkent Germany
Yemen Sanaa France (suspended). Applicants are referred to the Embassy of Sweden in Cairo