Press release from Ministry of Justice

Vaccinated people travelling to Sweden from Armenia are exempted from the entry ban and test requirement


The Govern­ment today adopted amend­ments to the tempo­rary ban on entry into Sweden. The amend­ments primarily mean that additio­nal people who can present a vaccine certificate issued in Armenia are exempted from the entry ban and test require­ment.

The temporary entry ban came into force on 19 March and initially applied for 30 days. It has sub­sequently been extended following recommen­dations by the European Commission and the Council of the European Union. The latest decision to extend the ban on entry into Sweden from countries out­side the EU/EEA means that the entry ban now applies until 31 January 2022. 

The entry ban means that a foreign citizen departing from a state other than an EEA State or Switzer­land travelling to Sweden will be denied entry into Sweden and turned away. There are a number of exemp­tions from the ban, but travellers are normally required to present a negative COVID-19 test result even if they are covered by one of the exemp­tions.

The Govern­ment’s decision today means that people travelling to Sweden who can present a vaccina­tion certifi­cate issued in Armenia are exempt from the entry ban and test require­ment. According to a European Com­mission decision, vaccina­tion certificates issued in Armenia are equiva­lent to the EU Digital COVID certifi­cate, which means that such certifi­cates can be checked and verified in the same manner and using the same techni­cal systems as the EU certificate.

The amendments will enter into force on 15 November 2021.

For more infor­mation on how the ordinance on a temporary ban on entry into Sweden is to be inter­preted and which exemp­tions apply, please visit the website of the Police Authority. See the adjacent links.

Regarding questions

Media professionals and journalists should contact the press secretaries.
All others should call the switchboard + 46 8 405 10 00 or send an email to the Ministry of Justice Senior Registry Clerk.